Digital District Repository Detail | Digital District Repository | History Corner | Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, Ministry of Culture, Government of India

Digital District Repository Detail

Bihari Mahato

Purulia, West Bengal

April 02, 2024 to April 02, 2026

Bihari Mahato was born in 1905 in Chepua village, located under Manbazar police station in the Purulia district with Khetu Mahato as his father. Despite completing his primary education in the village school, he couldn't pursue higher studies due to the absence of a nearby high school. Since childhood, the resonating chant of "Vandemataram" by Swadeshi activists deeply influenced him. Growing up, he found inspiration in the ideals of Purulia's eminent freedom fighters such as Bhajahari Mahato and Chittabhushan Dasgupta, which ignited his involvement in the country's freedom movement.

During the civil disobedience movement's second phase, he covertly passed on information to Congress workers. He embraced personal satyagraha in 1940, inspired by Gandhiji's principles. When Gandhiji initiated the Quit India movement in 1942, Bihari actively participated. Alongside companions like Chunaram Mahato, Gobinda Mahato, and Girish Chandra Mahato, under the leadership of Satyakinkar Mahato, he led an operation to capture the Manbazar police station. Tragically, Chunaram Mahato and Gobinda Mahato lost their lives, and several others were injured when the British police opened fire during the operation. Subsequently, he was arrested for his involvement and sentenced to six months imprisonment, serving time in Bhagalpur Jail.

Following independence, Bihari shifted his allegiance from Congress to Loksebak Sangha. Later, he became associated with Tusu Satyagraha. In recognition of his steadfast dedication to the freedom struggle, the Government of India honoured him with a Tamra Patra in 1972 and provided him with a monthly pension for his contributions to India's fight for independence.

Bihari Mahato passed away on 4 January 1990.

Pension order issued by Government of India in 1972.
Tamra Patra was awarded by the Government of India in 1972.

Source : Soumen Pal, Contributor for CCRT.