Digital District Repository Detail | Digital District Repository | History Corner | Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, Ministry of Culture, Government of India

Digital District Repository Detail

First recipient of the Tamra Patra Award

West Siang, Arunachal Pradesh

March 12, 2021


Moje Riba, born in Daring in 1911, lovingly calledAbohNyiji was a prominent martyr of the freedom movement.He was arrested by Britishers in 1947 for campaigning and distribution of Congress pamphlets. He was the first person from Arunachal Pradesh to host the national flag at Dipa Village of Arunachal Pradesh on the 15th August, 1947.

He was motivated to join the freedom movement against Britishers. In an act of supporting the freedom struggle, along with the village representatives of the Daring village, Moje Riba gathered at Dirang and decided to go to Sadiya to render support. There he met Gopinath Bordoloi and Lalit Hazarika. He was advised to join INC to work more and gather support for the party. Thus, he joined the Indian National Congress (INC).After joining INC, Moje Riba became the first INC President from Arunachal Pradesh. He led his supporters in the path to the country's freedom.

Ribawas the first recipience of the Tamra Patra Award in 1972 at Shillong by Government of India for his sacrifices and contributions towards freedom struggle.