Digital District Repository Detail | Digital District Repository | History Corner | Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, Ministry of Culture, Government of India

Digital District Repository Detail

Swarajya Party in Bihar

Patna, Bihar

March 17, 2023 to March 17, 2024

As a result of the Gaya Congress session of 1922, C. R. Das and Motilal Nehru’s Swaraj Party was formed. This found resonance across India, and Bihar’s Patna district too became a stronghold.

On 26th February, the Council Entry proponents met at Patna and formed a nucleus of the new party. The office-bearers were elected which included Narayan Prasad, Prof. Abdul Bari, Krishnaballabh Sahay and others.

Gaya and Patna became the crucial sites for the movement. The party executive carried on Gandhi’s constructive works too, like spreading khadi usage, education and temperance, along with organizing elections to the Municipalities, Councils and District Boards. Rajendra Prasad attended the 1923 Party meeting where it was decided that the Provincial Committee shall consist of all Congress Pro-Changer members and new Local Propaganda Committees were formed.

This ushered in a new era of constitutional agitation not only in Bihar but all across India.


Source: Indian Culture Portal