Digital District Repository Detail | Digital District Repository | History Corner | Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, Ministry of Culture, Government of India

Digital District Repository Detail

Bhim Sen Sachar

Lahore, Undivided India

June 21, 2022

Shri Bhim Sen Sachar was born on December 1, 1894. He was educated at Lahore where he took his B.A. and L.L.B. degrees and started practicing in Gujranwala.

In 1921 Shri Sachar became the Secretary of, Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee. He was the Registrar of National University, Lahore, and later in 1924-33, he was the Municipal Commissioner, Gujranwala.

Responding to the call of Mahatma Gandhi for civil disobedience, Shri Bhim Sen Sachar joined hands with freedom fighters and was imprisoned from 1930-31. He shifted to Lahore and started the Sunlight Insurance Company.

In 1937, he was elected as a Member of the Punjab Legislative Assembly. At the call of Mahatma Gandhi offering individual civil disobedience, he went to prison in 1940. He was elected leader of the Congress Party, Punjab Legislative Assembly. He again went to jail in 1942 in Quit India Movement launched by the Congress and remained in jail for over a year. In the 1945 General elections, he was elected unopposed to Punjab Assembly from the constituency of Lahore. He was also elected the leader of the Congress Legislative Party.

In 1947, he was elected as a Member, of the Constituent Assembly of Pakistan from West Punjab.

Shri Sachar became the Chief Minister of Punjab, in 1949. In the 1952 general election, he was elected a member of the Punjab Assembly from the Ludhiana city constituency. He again became the Chief Minister of Punjab from 1952-56. He was appointed Governor of Orissa from September 1956 to July 1957 and later the Governor of Andhra Pradesh from 1959-1962. He was the High Commissioner for India in Ceylon during 1964-66.

He also held the offices of Chairman of Guru Nanak Foundation, Punjab, and Chairman of Khadi Gram Udyog Sangh. He died on 18 January 1978.

Source: Information Brochure of Commemorative Postage Stamp issued by Department of Posts.